An Interview With Eric Stanze of Wicked Pixel Cinema

Collapse
X
Collapse
  •  
    Ian Jane
    Administrator

• An Interview With Eric Stanze of Wicked Pixel Cinema

IJ - Some background information. What made you want to get into filmmaking and what kind of training do you have?

ES - My formal training was in television. As far as writing, producing, directing, and editing movies, I'm entirely self-taught. I just started doing it. I made a lot of crappy movies, which taught me how to make movies that were less crappy. I don't know that I ever had that moment where I decided to get into filmmaking. I've been doing it since I was a kid... I think I just started doing it... and then once I was in, I realized that there is really no other place for me.

IJ - Who were your primary influences growing up and in your 'formative years' and has your appreciation for others' work changed since you started making movies yourself?

ES - Growing up, I was inspired by Dario Argento, Sam Raimi, and George Romero, mostly. In my 20's, I started to study William Friedkin, Stanley Kubrick, David Cronenberg, Francis Ford Coppola, Ridley Scott, and Mario Bava. More recently, I've been inspired by Michael Mann, Darren Aronofsky, Steven Soderbergh, and Jean Rollin.

I'm sure that making movies for the last fifteen years has had some influence on my appreciation (or lack thereof) for movies I watch. These days, knowing what an uphill battle it is to make an independently financed movie, I tend to appreciate the lower budget stuff. And seeing really shitty Hollywood films that cost 80 million bucks just infuriates me.