Rock! Shock! Pop! Interviews Director Paco Plaza

Collapse
X
Collapse
  •  
    Ian Jane
    Administrator

• Rock! Shock! Pop! Interviews Director Paco Plaza

Filmmaker Pazo Plaza has made a pretty serious name for himself in his native Spain and the success of the [REC] films have brought him to attention on the international and horror film circuits as well. With the release of [REC] Genesis now under way, Mr. Plaza was kind enough to take time out of his schedule to conduct an email interview with Rock! Shock! Pop! editor Ian Jane. So without further ado...

IJ: Let's start with a bit of background information. How did you get your start in the film industry?

PP: I started shooting short films in high school, kept on with that until producer Joan Ginard watched my short ABUELITOS and contacted me to begin working on a feature film that was SECOND NAME.

IJ: Most of your films have been horror movies - have you always been a horror fan? What directors would you say influenced you the most?

PP: Since I was a little child I loved horror films; all the classic, Hammer, Universal…and talking about directors, Ibí¡í±ez Serrador, Carpenter, Alex de la Iglesia…

IJ: Your first feature was Second Name (El Segundo Nombre) which was released in 2002 and which was a pretty impressive debut. Looking back on this, what challenges arose? How was this different to work on than the shorts and documentaries you'd made earlier?

PP: I was so young!! Everything was a challenge and new; back then I thought it was more or less the same, telling a story with a camera and actors in front of it. And I think today that what you have to keep when you shoot a long feature is that passion, this will to tell your story and some of the naivety; I try to keep intact my love and enthusiasm for filmmaking, preserving it from all the business and the buzz around it.