Rock! Shock! Pop! Presents An Interview With Kurando Mitsutake

Collapse
X
Collapse
  •  
    Ian Jane
    Administrator

• Rock! Shock! Pop! Presents An Interview With Kurando Mitsutake

Kurando Mitsutake has made a bit of a name for himself lately, and with Synapse Films releasing his Samurai Avenger: The Blind Wolf and Shout! Factory releasing his Gun Woman, both on Blu-ray, this week - we jumped at the opportunity to pick his brain about projects past, present and future.

R!S!P! - How did you get your start in the film industry?

After I graduated from film school at California Institute of the Arts, I was hired to co-produce supplemental featurettes for Newline Home Video. I worked on BLADE, RUSH HOUR, LOST IN SPACE and CORRUPTER. Then I became a production coordinator for Japanese TV productions coming over to shoot in the US.

Rock! Shock! Pop! - Growing up, and even now, who do you count as your main influences?

Kurando Mitsutake - If I'm only allowed to mention a few, I must say Sam Peckinpah and Kihachi Okamoto. Peckinpah's BRING ME THE HEAD OF ALFREDO GARCIA and Okamoto's THE SWORD OF DOOM are my bibles.

R!S!P! - One of your first credits was for handling some of the effects on Takashi Shimizu's The Grudge 2. What was it like working with Shimizu and how do you feel about the whole 'J-Horror' trend that movies like that and like Hideo Nakata's Ring films inspired?

KM - THE GRUDGE 2 was my first Hollywood gig. I assisted the VFX supervisor, Mr. Hajime Matsumoto, during post production in LA. Then I became close to Mr. Takashi Shimizu and he bumped me up to his assistant director for the re-shoot in Chicago. The J-Horror phenomenon in the early 2000s was really something. I think the movement created a new horizon for the horror genre worldwide. But the result was Hollywood wanted to pump out more of it too fast and eventually audiences grew tired of it.